bogged down….

12 Nov

I went for a short drive along a narrow lane with a bit of an awkward bend it in.  I hadn’t been there for quite a while as I’d got in quite a mess last time I tried even though I’d managed and even enjoyed it many times prior.  It’s easy to navigate going forward, slightly uphill and a bit narrow in places, but straightforward.

It’s just about negotiable for me in reverse.  The road was fine, even though the weather was a bit grey.  I made it to the destination, did what needed to be done.  But by the end of the day it was dark, and wet and miserable. I misjudged the kink in the slope and ended up with two wheels on boggy ground.  I tried to move forward to get out of the mess but i was stuck so i moved a bit further back in an attempt to extricate myself.  By then i was pretty much sliding around and getting nowhere.  I still had two wheels in sight of solid ground but they had no purchase. I could not get a grip. I was well and truly bogged down.  The car was stranded. I turned everything off, locked the doors and left it alone. It was too dark to do anything but sleep.

The next day it wasn’t so wet and grey.  I realised needed some people with more strength and the right tools to help me out.  It may have been a bit too late before i recognised i was getting myself more struck but once I asked for help it came.

The car is safely home.  Its  pretty muddy  and got a few bruises but its back on the road. I’m pretty sure when i next drive it everything will work as normal.

Thanks to a few friends, and their time and support, I’m back on the road.  Parked. But on solid ground.

Feel free to comment!

